Adapted by Patrick Barlow
From the novel by John Buchan
From the movie by Alfred Hitchcock
And an original concept by Nobby Dimon and Simon Corble

On Our Stage in Our 87th Season

September 12, 13, 14, 19, 20, 21, 26, 27 and 28, 2014
produced in Cooperation with Samuel French, Inc.

The Show

Mix a Hitchcock masterpiece with a juicy spy novel, add a dash of Monty Python (or perhaps Carol Burnett) and you have this intriguing, thrilling, clever, riotous and unmissable comedy. Our leading man is wrongly accused of murder and tries fervently to stay one step ahead of the police, and a group of spies, as he tries to solve the mystery of “The 39 Steps” while clearing his name.  Along the way, he meets three women who figure prominently in his life as he travels from a London music hall north by northwest to Scotland’s most remote highlands. Will he save Britain from a den of devious spies?  A cast of 4 actors play upwards of 50 characters in this fast-paced tale of an ordinary man on an extraordinarily entertaining adventure. The 39 Steps recreates the contains every single legendary scene from the award-winning movie — including the chase on the Flying Scotsman, the escape on the Fourth Bridge, the first theatrical bi-plane crash ever staged, and the sensational death-defying finale in the London Palladium.

The Crew

Director: Alan Ellias

Co-Producers: Jeff Bartos and Diane Kaplan

Stage Manager and Crew: David Wood, Chuck Bollman and Phil Walling

Set Designer: Ross Grossman and Alan Ellias

Lighting: Chris Boudreau, David Reynold II, and John Sczomak

Sound: Chris Boudreau and Dave Kanclerz

Master Carpenter: Gordon Mosley

Set Construction and Painting: Floyd Bell, Lynn Lewis-Bell, Chris Boudreau, Alan Ellias, Ross Grossman, Dave Kanclerz, Angel Melcher, Gordon Mosley, David Reynolds II, John Sczomak, Jana Smith, Lillian Wilson, Phil Walling, and David Wood

Hair and Makeup: Chuck Demske, Jacqueline Dienes, Lindel Salow, and Frann Stempek

Costumes: Mary Calder, Alan Ellias, and Diane Kaplan assisted by the Costume Committee and Members of the Guild

Props: MaryAnn Denyer and Diane Cliff assisted by Chris Boudreau, Pat Denyer, Alan Ellias, Steve Gautreau, Ross Grossman, Diane Kaplan, David Reynolds II, Scott Rider, John Sczomak, Jana Smith, Brian Townsend, and Dave Wood

Publicity: Sue Suchyta

Postcard Mailing: Steve Gautreau, Victor Hydel, Patti and Brad Martin, Mike Moseley, Mike Mayne, Brett Reynolds, Tom Sparrow, Sue Suchyta, and Mark Walton

Program: Kori Bielaniec and Brian Townsend

Tickets: Tracey Boudreau, Kevin Rider, Scott Rider, John and Lois Sczomak, Jennifer Trahey, Frann Stempek, Mike Moseley, Richard and Amy Moore, Tom Sparrow and Alan Ellias

Afterglow and Cast & Crew: Tim Carney assisted by Jeff Bartos and Diane Kaplan

50/50 and Intermission: Frann Stempek assisted by Members of the Guild

Ushers: Shari and Mike Mayne assisted by  Members of the Guild

Original Cover Artwork: Brian Townsend

The Cast

Richard Hannay, Ross Grossman

Pamela/Annabella/Margaret, Sarah Zakaria

Clown 1, Alex Gojkov

Clown 2, Tiffany Mullins

Show Photos by Marni Mayne

Leave a Reply